MonteCarloSS.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1051403 - 06/11/17 06:23 PM AC Won't Work...  
longislandcamper Offline
longislandcamper  Offline

Port Jefferson Station, NY
Picked up my 85 SS a few months back as a first time restoration car. It's in really good shape but there are a few issues here and there. My gripe right now is the AC. The hot and cold settings work well as does the blower. The only problem is that when you slide it over to AC that you never get cold air. There are no noticeable changes when I slide to lever to AC.

As a complete newbie to car repair, what are some things I could check out? I do have R12.

#1051406 - 06/11/17 07:52 PM Re: AC Won't Work... [Re: longislandcamper]  
upflying Online content
15+ Year
upflying  Online Content
15+ Year

Reno, NV
Assuming your compressor isn't running, the low pressure switch on the side of the accumulator (black cap/two green wires/big round aluminum can) has to sense pressure from the refrigerant to work. Chances are your R12 has leaked out which shuts off the compressor from running.
Due to scarcity and cost of R12, most of us have converted over to R134a.
Newbies to AC repair probably should have the shop do the conversion. You need pressure gauges, R134a seals, R134a ports and a vacuum pump to check for leaks and remove moisture from the system.
There are plenty of videos on YT showing how it is done.

Last edited by upflying; 06/11/17 08:00 PM.

86 MCSS Notchback coupe, LS3, 4L65E, column shift, silver with maroon bench interior

#1051407 - 06/11/17 08:01 PM Re: AC Won't Work... [Re: longislandcamper]  
Bitflipper Offline
Bitflipper  Offline

Las Vegas, NV