CELEBRATING 20 YEARS!

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#1058826 - 08/28/18 02:51 PM Gear set up question  
Warriorridge Offline
Warriorridge  Offline

Petersburg PA
Hey everyone. I am working on putting together the rear end for my car. I think I got the gear pattern pretty good, but it's my first time setting up gears, so I'd like a second opinion. Here's the coast side
[img]https://flic.kr/p/NpoNgL[/img]
I'm having a hard time getting a very distinct mark, so I don't know how well it shows in the pictures, but it's pretty well centered in the middle of the tooth, and seems to be making good contact.
Here's the drive side
[img]https://flic.kr/p/29roxBE[/img]
The mark is off to the side a little, but it doesn't go off the tooth at all, and it seems to be centered up and down fairly well. The guide I have says to concentrate mostly on the coast side when setting up used gears. I tried a few different thickness of shims for pinion depth, there didn't seem to be a dramatic difference between them, but this one seemed to be the best overall. It looks ok to me, but like I said, it's my first time, and I'd hate for it to lock up the first time I drive the car or something like that.

#1058827 - 08/28/18 02:52 PM Re: Gear set up question [Re: Warriorridge]  
Warriorridge Offline
Warriorridge  Offline

Petersburg PA
Sorry, I don't know why the pictures aren't working. If you click the link they should show up

#1058834 - 08/29/18 02:29 AM Re: Gear set up question [Re: Warriorridge]  
ChasUno Offline
ChasUno  Offline

Bradenton, FL
Can't help regarding gear set up, but the pics not showing up might be because Flickr doesn't allow hot linking, or you haven't used the correct link option. Some picture hosting sites give you a list of options for sharing your pictures elsewhere. When you load the picture in your Flickr account, see if it offers this link option:

"BBCode (message boards & forums)"